St Andrews Agreement 2006

 In Ikke-kategoriseret

The Provisional IRA announces the end of its armed campaign (2005) Blair s and Ahern`s agreement for restoring devolution (2006) The St Andrews Agreement (2006) The Journey (2016 film) The Northern Ireland (St Andrews Agreement) Act 2006, which implemented the agreement, received Royal Ass. The Northern Ireland (St Andrews Agreement) Act 2006 provides that, following an election to the Assembly on 7 March 2007, ministerial functions under the Hondt system will be filled on 26 March 2007. If ministerial duties could not be filled at that time, the law required the Minister of Northern Ireland to have an order to dissolve the Assembly and the St Andrews agreement to fall. The joint statement of 13 October stated that the governments had “asked the parties, after hearing from their members, to confirm their agreement by 10 November”. In a statement, Sinn Féin said that “on 6 November, Sinn Féin Ard Chomhairle instructed the party leadership to follow the course of action taken in St Andrews and to continue the ongoing negotiations to resolve the outstanding issues” and that they are “firmly convinced that all outstanding difficulties can be resolved.” According to the DUP statement, “As Sinn Féin is not yet ready to take the decisive step in police work, the DUP will not be obliged to engage on any aspect of power-sharing before that certainty.” While neither statement “accepted” the agreement, both governments stated that there was sufficient support from all parties to continue the process. Northern Ireland Minister Peter Hain called the deal an “amazing breakthrough” on BBC Radio Five Live. Prime Minister Bertie Ahern said that if the deadlines set by both governments were not met, “the plan will be shaken and there will be a step towards Plan B without further discussion.” Ian Paisley, Chairman of the Democratic Unionist Party, said: “Unionists can have confidence in the progress of their interests and the victory of democracy.” He also said: “The implementation of the central issue of the police and the rule of law begins now.” Sinn Féin leader Gerry Adams said plans needed to be consulted, but the restoration of political institutions was a “huge price.” Ulster Unionist Party president Reg Empey called the agreement a “Belfast agreement for slow learners.” Mark Durkan, chairman of the Social Democratic and Labour Party, said welcome progress had been made in restoring power-sharing institutions. Alliance Party Chairman David Ford said the result was a “mix of challenges and opportunities.” [3] In the weeks following the Paisley-Adams agreement, the four parties – DUP, Sinn Féin, UUP and SDLP – indicated their choice of ministries within the executive and appointed members to fill them. The Assembly met on 8 May 2007 and elected Ian Paisley and Martin McGuinness as Premier and Deputy Prime Minister. It also ratified the ten ministers appointed by their parties. On 12 May, Sinn Féin Ard Chomhairle agreed to hold three seats on the police committee and appointed three MLAs to take.

The St Andrews Agreement also mentions the difficult issues on which the two major parties must agree to meet this timetable. In 2005, the political situation was even more polarized, with the Democratic Unionist Party (DUP) and Sinn Fein becoming the main parties in Northern Ireland. Another pioneering peace agreement, the 2006 St Andrews Agreement, would be needed to bring them together and restore decentralisation in Northern Ireland. The St Andrews Agreement (Irish: Comhaonté Chill R`mhinn; Ulster Scots: St Andra`s `Greement, St Andrew`s Greeance[1] or St Andrae`s Greeance[2]) is an agreement between the British and Irish governments and the political parties in Northern Ireland on the decentralisation of power in the region.

Recent Posts